Featured Banner Image

Featured Banner Image

Thursday, May 23, 2013



Media Contact: Lauren Gehrig (512) 765-5892 press@texasbiennial.org


Austin, Texas – May 22, 2013 The Texas Biennial is pleased to announce the artists selected for the 2013 Texas Biennial. They are:

UNT alumni and faculty are highlighted in green

  • Adela Andea (Conroe)
  • Skye Ashbrook (Austin)
  • David Aylsworth (Houston)
  • Debra Barrera (Houston)
  • Michael Bise (Houston)
  • Michael Blair (Denton)
  • Matthew Bourbon (Denton)
  • Margarita Cabrera (El Paso)
  • Bernardo Cantu (Denton)
  • Rebecca Carter (Dallas)
  • Teresa Cervantes (Austin)
  • Kristen Cochran (Dallas)
  • Joseph Cohen (Houston)
  • Shannon Crider (San Antonio)
  • Rachel Crist and Daedalus Hoffman (Austin)
  • Matthew Cusick (Dallas)
  • Gabriel Dawe (Dallas)
  • Claudio Dicochea (San Antonio)
  • Kent Dorn (Houston)
  • Trey Egan (Lewisville)
  • Cassandra Emswiler (McKinney)
  • Miriam Ellen Ewers (Denton)
  • Vincent Falsetta (Denton)
  • Danielle Georgiou (Dallas)
  • Jeff Gibbons (Arlington)
  • Sally Glass (Dallas)
  • Will Henry (Houston)
  • Hillerbrand + Magsamen (Houston)
  • Geoff Hippenstiel (Houston)
  • HOMECOMING! Committee (Fort Worth)
  • Letitia Huckaby (Fort Worth)
  • Tatiana Istomina (Houston)
  • Hiroko Kubo (Fort Worth)
  • Ann Johnson (Houston)
  • Angela Kallus (Fort Worth)
  • Lakes Were Rivers (Austin)
  • Julia Barbosa Landois (San Antonio)
  • Dion Laurent (Houston)
  • Jonathan Leach (Houston)
  • Natali Leduc (Houston)
  • Ysabel LeMay (Austin)
  • Daniel McFarlane (Spring)
  • Marcelyn McNeil (Houston)
  • Robert Melton and Robert Boland (Austin)
  • Abinadi Meza (Austin)
  • Madsen Minax (Houston)
  • Rahul Mitra (Pearland)
  • Seth Mittag (Houston)
  • Michael Morris (Irving)
  • Nancy Newberry (Dallas)
  • Kelly O'Connor (San Antonio)
  • Arthur Peña (Dallas)
  • Katie Rose Pipkin (Austin)
  • Jessica Pizaña-Roberts (El Paso)
  • Mark Ponder (Houston)
  • Anne Regan (Houston)
  • Liz Rodda (Austin)
  • Gregory Ruppe (Fort Worth)
  • Chris Sauter (San Antonio)
  • Carrie Schneider (Houston)
  • Kasey Short (Austin)
  • Gary Sweeney (San Antonio)
  • The Bridge Club Collaborative (Huntsville)
  • Prince Thomas (Houston)
  • Kevin Todora (Richardson)
  • Melissa Tran (Houston)
  • Brad Tucker (Austin)
  • Giovanni Valderas (Dallas)
  • Sara Vanderbeek (Austin)

Selections were made by a distinguished group of curators (see below), working independently to review works for inclusion in the group survey exhibition that will take September 5 - November 9 at Blue Star Contemporary Art Museum in San Antonio.

About the Texas Biennial
The Texas Biennial is an independent survey of contemporary art in Texas, founded to create an exhibition opportunity for all artists living and working in the state. In the fall of 2013, the Biennial celebrates its 5th anniversary with a range of exhibitions and other programming at venues in Austin, Dallas, Houston, Marfa and San Antonio.

For 2013, the curators of the open call group survey exhibition that is the central feature of the Biennial are Bill Arning, René Paul Barilleaux, Christian Gerstheimer, K8 Hardy, Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler, Annette Lawrence, David Pagel, Bárbara Perea, Christina Rees, Dario Robleto, Noah Simblist, Jeremy Strick, and Clint Willour, working with Curator-at-Large Virginia Rutledge.

The TX★13 group survey exhibition will be presented at Blue Star Contemporary Art Museum in San Antonio, with selected performances during the run of the exhibition at CentralTrak–The Artist Residency of the University of Texas at Dallas. A commissioned artist project will be presented by Ballroom Marfa. Special anniversary exhibitions of current work by selected past Biennial artists will be hosted at Lawndale Art Center in Houston and Big Medium in Austin.

Curator bios, programming dates and other details are available at www.texasbiennial.org. Follow the Biennial on Facebook and Twitter.

The Texas Biennial is a program of Big Medium, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting contemporary art throughout Texas, funded in part by the City of Austin through the Cultural Arts Division. The Biennial is also supported by the Texas Commission on the Arts and generous contributions from Suzanne Deal Booth and David G. Booth and other private donors, as well as grants from the Susan Vaughan Foundation and the Elizabeth Firestone Graham Foundation.

About Blue Star Contemporary Art Museum
Blue Star Contemporary Art Museum is the first and longest-running venue for contemporary art in San Antonio. Now in its twenty-seventh year, Blue Star enables over 300,000 visitors each year to experience contemporary art through exhibitions, the MOSAIC after-school education program, and community events.